Float

 

Sliding down burning rope
into darkened depths
of glimmering hope…
each level descended,


I shatter in scope

— breaking layers
one by one —
leaving the past

dis
in
te
grat
ed


behind in my wake

of tormented times.

Freer and freer,
deeper and deeper
I dive,
growing fins
where wings were.

I do not fear
the landing
because

I float.

 

~ Emily C.

5.31.17

******

Hello friends. Just a quick note to check in. I continue in my recovery and healing from my own challenging year, and then the grief of Chris Cornell’s death. I needed to detach from obligations and expectations this last little while to really truly shed layers of stress built up. I am finally…fingers crossed/knock on wood…seeing glimpses of my happier self shining through (prior to Chris’ death). It’s been a daily consciousness kind of thing, and really listening to my needs, making them known, saying no, and living in the moment.

On that note, while I have been writing some, I’ve had to breathe from the reading here a bit. Today, I have spent all day trying to visit and catch up on as many blogs as I can.  I am also working on not apologizing for things that don’t need apologizing for, so I won’t say I’m sorry for not being around, because my health needed the break. (Being a people pleaser is part of what has caused so much stress to begin with.) But, I will say thank you for your continued support and love. Especially to those who have reached out during my grieving.

I think after a year of constant daily writing, my brain needed space. And honestly, I think that it will mean that I have a wellspring built up to produce more words when they are ready.  I need(ed) to allow myself the time.

Love to all. I’m always in awe of your talent, passion, beauty and friendship. And while we all need time away, I doubt I could ever stay away for long.

Thank you!

Love, Em

26 thoughts on “Float

  1. Sitting here, not wondering, knowing
    The empty seat across the cafe
    Will be filled again, even trees
    Need to hide their bloom
    Leave themselves bare.
    We smile, still, knowing, when ready,
    When conditions are right, they will bloom
    Again to seek the sun, to drink our water.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Ah, you’re anything but an asshat! Why would you feel like one? And thank you, Bliss! I’m getting there day by day. See your email. I was happy to see yours. 💜😊

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Sitting quietly and contemplating your words. Take all the time you need, we aren’t going anywhere. As a matter of fact, I just got here 🙂 The poem was rather divine! Put some healing salve on your rope burns, healing will follow x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha, yes, you did just get here! Thank you, Diana. Yes, it’s a good thing to listen to one’s needs…we often come back even stronger. Thank you very much for the kind thoughts and support! 🙏🏼💜

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Meg! Yes, this is true. I’m getting there. I keep feeling like I’m falling through the layers and reaching new levels of peace, with more to go. Like one long exhale. 🙏🏼💜 Love back!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Bravo for taking care of yourself; being kind to yourself is so important. I already figured to you needed space, so I didn’t reach out in the way I usually do, because I trust you know how to find me, when needed 😉
    Big hug! XxX

    Liked by 1 person

Speak Your Heart...

