So Frame Me

wilted like the plucked flower
off a tree, dying on the stem
color bright in death throes
one last glorious show

you kept me in a book
shaken and mistook
flattened by your game
you stole from me my name

claimed trophy of your escapades
prize of love commandeered
wanted poster memorialized
my heart dehydrated in time

fragile now, these petals crack
veins that once beat blood back
responding to your poisonous voice
lured to an end not of choice

so frame me in herbarium
categorize me in collection
then take me out to share
after all, why else am I here

 

~ Emily C.

6.8.17

7 thoughts on “So Frame Me

Speak Your Heart...

