Summer’s Chill

winter took my mind
away when summer came
dark where light had shined
mind took form of snow

twisted nooks and crannies
matter dusted cobweb ice
summoning spring in silence
still meditation dictates

whether conscious or distracted
whether forward or back
(how much can I feel
if I hold my breath?)

winter took my mind
frosted smiles in jackfrost ferns
shaped in frozen fronds of time
captured sunny summer spells

lip corners curled
perpetual outer shell
confuse the outer world
won’t figure my seasons out

winter took my mind
out to play today
wormhole field trip, I
will gladly slide away

(how much can I feel
if I hold my breath?)
wait for winter winds
summer’s chill
to thaw

 

~ Emily C.

6.19.17

6 thoughts on “Summer’s Chill

Speak Your Heart...

