This Dark Night

crow stares with crescent moon eye
surveying the night and me
perched on a dead branch he spies
my steps taken rather tentatively

skeleton leaves frozen like me
cracking under foot they crumble
alone — no one can hear chattering
of my teeth, or my incoherent mumble

while I wander in this black evening
searching for a way out of this trap
I can’t help but feel blood curdling
and hairs on my arms begin to react

caw! and I jump with a startle
whoo! and I jolt to the right
meow! and I trip on the cat
squeak! and I curse this dark night

but no, these were not my enemies
not my tormentors nor my fears
rather my furry friendlies
saving me a spot to rest my rear

up to the tree I climbed
dead leaves my new cozy nest
blinking down my crescent moon eyes
to spy who might walk by next

 

~ Emily C. 10.13.17

4 thoughts on “This Dark Night

Speak Your Heart...

